Avoiding bad spread proximity during a trade in high volatility

I’m a brand-new trader, just started trading live this week using the Izone Sharpshooter Beginner system. I caught some very nice trend trades this morning on NQ with the volatility around the Fed Chair’s speech. I tried to get into Nadex spreads near the bottom of the range but with low proximity, so that I had plenty of room for profit before hitting the spread boundary. Everything worked great, except that when the market took off the proximity of the spread didn’t keep up with the market even though I was in a wide spread and I never got close to the limit. It never caught up and when I got stopped out of the trade (based on the index) I left a bunch of money on the table because I had to close it out so far from the market.

Is there anything I can do to avoid that in the future, or is that just the nature of spreads in that kind of volatility? Would I have to trade futures directly to be able to track the market more closely?

Depends on what you mean by wide spread. What market where you trading? How wide was the spread? Did you use the daily spread that starts at 6 pm et. Rarely are you going to get in at the bottom of a spread with low proximity during high volatility events.about the middle 70 % of the spread will have less proximity impact but as you reach the floor or ceilig of a spread the premium impact will be higher ecspecially during a high volatility event.