Hedging NQ

Hi all,

After a year and a half of learning and demo’ing, I’ve finally started trading spreads live (on NADEX). Because of my work schedule, I can only trade from 9:15-10am ET in the mornings, so basically market open. I am a one and done trader who uses a hedging strategy that Darrell often promotes. I want to trade NQ using short term contracts as hedge against my primary position which is a daily contract. However NQ’s shortest spread expiry’s are still generally higher $$ (30-40 range) to get into pre-market than say ES’s and even when the market opens and goes in my direction the hedge ends up eating a lot of my profit. I have to exit the trade by 10am so I can’t normally wait to see if the hedge comes back the other direction. Is there a better way to hedge NQ?

1. Maybe using ES contracts as a hedge against my primary NQ position since they are cheaper and both Indices are highly correlated?

2. Maybe doing a 2/1 ratio between my primary and hedge positions? I know it means risking more than putting on a full hedge. I also thought about hedging with Binaries but have since read than its not a good idea.

3. Put on the primary position first pre-market (9:15-25am ET) and wait as long as possible to put on the hedge if needed?

Anybody like me who trades market open and hedges NQ please advise! Thanks!

@darrell @renzo1

• These are all great questions and ones that have taken me some years to all resolve doing this strategy live and working with 1000’s of traders. These kind of questions are the very reason I am doing the seminar in Fort Worth :slight_smile:

• NQ is a higher premium spread. It is not a great contract for mirroring the market especially in current volatility that is so high right now. .

• Using ES contracts is not an efficient or predictable way to hedge NQ as the beta constantly varies and sometimes massively so your results will be random not consistent.