How can I be losing $$ if price expires inside the floor/ceiling?

As the title says. I know the options market pretty well, although I’m new to Nadex. In the regular options world if the price is within the range of the iron condor spread, the position expires worthless and you keep the net credit. Is that not the case with Nadex?

It doesn’t seem to be…I’m using the scanner, and tested with several spreads over the last day. All of the spreads expired inside the floor/ceiling range, yet I’ve lost money in the process. How is this possible?

Definitely seeing losses with these positions. It’s small but it’s still there. It’s tough to analyze the position given the way Nadex records the transaction within the demo account history. There’s not a lot of information, just a statement saying the payout amount.

I’m assuming the Nadex “spread” differs from a traditional options spread in that it still introduces a directional component within the spread itself? Depending on where the price closes relative to the position opening, you can still lose money, even if it’s within the floor/ceiling?

Correct… think of spreads as trading directional with Nadex

You can buy a lower spread and sell and upper one and collect the premium (called and Iron condor)

Hmm. Here’s an example:

I bought one Wall Street 30 spread this morning for 20800-20900. It cost me $46 (demo acct of course). I opened it at 20846. It expired at 20847, which was within the floor/ceiling range. Yet I still lost money even though neither strike price was hit. I don’t get it, that’s not really how a condor-style spread actually works. In traditional options market if the price expires inside the strikes you collect the premium.

So you’re telling me that I need to buy two spreads–one lower and one upper, and that’s the correct way to do a Nadex Iron Condor?