The Butterfly Effect

I am new to APEX but have been trading butterflies on the 20-min NADEX indexes for some time. With this in mind I thought I would put out some ideas on how I try to identify them. The idea is to use the opposite of the Trend Catcher Rules to find opportunities. This trade works in slow markets, lunch hour, Friday afternoons and holiday weeks when the professionals are away.

I have attached a chart that illustrates the concept. Looking at the Bar Timer you will see bars taking 2 min and spiking to 3 min to form (also the 20-min time boxes are very narrow with only 3 of 4 candles in them). Secondly Volume is declining and way below the expected line (volume = movement so no volume = no movement). Third, Trend Catcher is firing off trades in the opposite direction of the APEX Indicator and giving multiple cyan arrows without a confirming arrow. Fourth, price is oscillating between 2 standard deviation levels (often between settlement and ± 0.5 or just around the Settlement line) indicating little market movement.

To enter the trade: It is best to enter as early in the 20-min time frame as possible, rarely w/ less than 15-min remaining. This will give the widest possible spread and still produce reasonable results. You buy an ITM strike below recent support and sell an ITM strike above recent resistance. You want $15 to 20 profit potential on each leg. Selecting the strikes is critical. If you are not sure go further out. I like to be 3 or more strikes apart. It is OK to leg into the position, entering first in the direction of the TC red/green arrow then entering the other side after confirming the market is stalled, just don’t wait too long.