Any Insight from the experienced?

Hello fellow Traders,

Forgive the wall of text, but I’m at the end of my rope with my trades and was hoping some of the experienced traders could critique my trading strategies and give me some advice. I’m going to try and recount the evolution of my trading strategies and self identify where I’ve gone wrong and end up on my current strategy.

For a little background, I’ve been trading daily or nearly daily for the past 3 months throughout the day, almost entirely on forex. I traded for a couple weeks on the demo platform and after being up $2k in 2 weeks I decided to go live. All of the strategies below have been forex.

My first strategy was buying at the money positions with 3-4 hours before expiration and skimming a 25% profit. This technique worked well in demo and for the first couple days was making good profits. With a seemingly fool proof strategy I made the mistake of sizing up contracts with the expectation of always winning. In one afternoon a large market turn wiped out nearly my entire account. Second lesson also learned, do not expose more than 20% of your account at a time.

-Having “learned” my lesson I refilled my account and decided to try a new strategy. I evolved to a premium collection strategy taking mostly short positions with very low profit, typically less than $10, normally around $8 with a 2-3 hour expiration. This strategy worked well to the point I would pick trades based on profit level and not reading the charts, incorrectly assuming the market was making the odds for me being right and with a less than $10 profit I inferred a 90% win rate would follow. Unfortunately, this worked often enough at first I thought the strategy was working, and I started to slowly but steady make profits. Then when larger market movements happened I was wiped out. A single loss would eat everything I won and then some and not much later I was back to zero in my account.