I Am Confused About Nadex Spreads

Hi Apex,

I just started trading spreads in Nadex demo account because I continue to lose money trading binaries. I am having a hard time understanding spreads completely, though. I understand that there’s a floor and a ceiling. However, when it comes to the price I sold/brought it at and the indicative price how does that work? I am sorry if it sounds like I am asking a stupid question. Here are pictures below of a trade I took the other day.

In the first picture you can see that the floor in the first trade I took, was 1.2680 and the ceiling was 1.2930. I sold it at 1.2907. On the second trade, the floor is 1.2930 and the ceiling is 1.3180. I brought it at 1.2950. In the second photo you can see the indicative price is 1.29365. On the trade that I sold, if the indicative price moves from 1.29365 and below 1.2907 to let’s say, 1.2857, will I be $50 in the money? On the trade that I brought, if the indicative price moves from 1.29365 and above 1.2950, to let’s say, 1.3000, will that also be a $50 profit? Again, I am sorry. I am just now figuring out how they work. I hope that I didn’t confuse you.

First, there are no “stupid” questions… other than ones that aren’t asked.

Chances are someone has had the same exact question before or has experienced a similar situation.

Second, while initially harder to understand you will find that Nadex Spreads are much more forgiving than the binaries. Nothing wrong with binaries… but personally if I am going to lose $35+ on a trade… I rather it be because the market went against me said 35 + ticks. :grimacing:

As for your questions… hard to say. on your sell trade you got in near the ceiling and on your buy you got in near the floor. So the spreads wont move as fast as the indicative

When you want to mirror the market in a directional trade, you want to choose a Near The Money (NTM) Spread… that will generally match the markets moves tick for tick.