NADEX is "simpler" than ThinkOrSwim?

I’m new to options and as I learn NADEX through Apex, I am concurrently learning how trading on ThinkOrSwim works. Still unclear on exactly the differences, but I have a feeling the differences are more like nuances. Help me clear it up:

To trade options on ThinkOrSwim, I need to purchase stocks AND options as part of a complete strategy. In a sense, I am not trading options per se, but rather using options to increase my probability of success by reducing my cost basis of the stock. I am trading stocks and the options are a form of “booster juice” to help me trade better, yes?

On the other hand with NADEX, I am only trading the options themselves…no stocks involved. The common analogy for an option is a coupon, which has intrinsic/extrinsic value, and that’s the value I am buying/selling. On NADEX, the value of the option is derived (“affected”) by the underlying market AND time decay…the rate of change of this “affect” is measured by delta, which is the specialty of NADEX to have made the value of the option equal to the delta in order to make trading it easier.

Did I get the major difference between ThinkOrDrown vs NADEX understood correctly? :smiley:

Hi, Scalper, let me help with very basic information.

TOS is a broker and a platform pretty much specialized in options trading, although you can also trade stocks, ETF´s futures and forex. They do not have binary options.

In order to trade options with TOS you do not have to buy the stock per se. You can buy and sell options as an instrument to make or loose money by itself. Of course you can do strategies like a covered call where you utilize a stock and an option to do it and there are a lot of different combinations between options and stocks that you can construct in their platform. There are also many risks when trading options and strategies using options that you will have to learn in the platform.